Geans takes over as Cooperative Communicators Association board president

Aug. 21, 2023 – Michelle Geans, Baldwin EMC, Summerdale, Ala., was elected as board president with the nationwide Cooperative Communicators Association (CCA). Election results were finalized during their annual institute in Portland, Maine, June 4-6, 2023, and board members started their new roles this summer.

“I’m excited to spend the next year working with the CCA Board of Directors to lead our great organization,” shared Geans. “Like our individual cooperative members, our board and our leadership are democratically elected, so it’s an honor to have this privilege.”

During the process, Hayley Leatherwood, Oklahoma Living Magazine, Oklahoma City, Okla., was elected for her first term. Both Cliff Dolbeare, GROWMARK, Inc., Bloomington, Ill., and Adam Buckallew, MFA Oil Company, Columbia, Mo., were reelected to the board.

Executive board positions for the 2023-2024 fiscal year include Geans as president; Dolbeare as vice president; and Dori Lichty, CentralStar Cooperative, Waupun, Wis., as secretary/treasurer. Other board members include Kelly Jimenez, Carroll EMC, Carrollton, Ga.; Jennie Lacey, Flint Energies, Warner Robins, Ga.; Anne Moore, Edge Dairy Farmer Cooperative, Green Bay, Wis.; and Brianna Wall, Oklahoma Electric Cooperative, Norman, Okla.

CCA exists to improve the effectiveness of all cooperative communicators; advance professional standards; exchange facts, research, techniques, and opinions among cooperative communicators; and conduct an annual institute and other programs suitable to meeting the purpose of the association. Visit for more information.

Photo: Past president Candace Croft, right, West Florida Electric Cooperative Association, Inc., Graceville, Fla., recently finished her term on the Cooperative Communicators Association Board of Directors and is pictured here turning the position over to the 2023-2024 president, Michelle Geans, Baldwin EMC, Summerdale, Ala.

Ready to Become a Member of CCA?

Join Today!

Thank you to our Sponsors